home

sawv

http://sawv.org
jr's notes
Thu, 02 Apr 2020 14:45:19 Z
http://sawv.org/rss.xml


Links and Notes - Thu, Apr 2, 2020

It's sunny, pleasant morning with warming temps. Early this morning, temps were in the 30s. Barney and I walked for 38 minutes, during the 9am hour, and temps were in the 40s. Today will be a nice spring day.

Thu, 02 Apr 2020 14:45:19 Z


Apple Acquires Dark Sky

Hacker News thread from today.

Wed, 01 Apr 2020 18:10:36 Z


Links and Notes - Wed, Apr 1, 2020

The one Fox Sparrow continues to forage occasionally on the west spirea bed in our backyard. About 10 juncos have also been foraging on the backyard at times.

Wed, 01 Apr 2020 14:01:48 Z


Links and Notes - Tue, Mar 31, 2020

Both Fox Sparrows are around again today, third day in a row. I'm assuming that it's the same two FOSP from Sunday. Fun birds to observe. A few juncos were around too.

Tue, 31 Mar 2020 15:27:30 Z


Links and Notes - Mon, Mar 30, 2020

The two Fox Sparrows foraged at the south end of the west spire bed. Ma and Pa Northern Cardinal foraged nearby.

Mon, 30 Mar 2020 17:03:18 Z


Links - Mon, Mar 30, 2020

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=22704051

Mon, 30 Mar 2020 16:03:49 Z


mon, mar 30, 2020 text message to CP

Hi, C. Piggy-backing off of last night's conversation, I've thought about three possible scenarios. (A) We continue as we always have with Rhonda coming over, and Deb and I helping as needed. (B) If your schedule or Brad's schedule gets obliterat ...

Mon, 30 Mar 2020 14:23:30 Z


Links and Notes - Sun, Mar 29, 2020

Deb and I birdwatched along the lakeshore for a few hours today. We saw a good number of duck and other waterfowl species.

Sun, 29 Mar 2020 18:48:51 Z


Links - Sat, Mar 28, 2020

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 22:15:43 Z


WebPageTest Results - Fri, Mar 27, 2020

The above page is hosted at an AWS S3 bucket with CloudFront caching in front of it, but the caching expires after five minutes.

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 21:20:00 Z


Old Fashioned

I enjoy this cocktail, but not many places around Toledo do it well. Currently, my favorite place for an Old Fashioned is Mancy's Italian restaurant. They also serve an excellent barrel-aged Manhattan that bartender JJ assembles.

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 21:05:00 Z


Links and Notes - Sat, Mar 28, 2020

Active afternoon for headlines.

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 15:16:21 Z


aws testing fri mar 27 2020

Sat, 28 Mar 2020 02:55:41 Z


Links and Notes - Fri, Mar 27, 2020

Toledo Express Airport (KTOL) Mar 27, 2020 9:52 am EDT Weather : Overcast Temperature : 41 F Humidity : 82% Wind Speed : ENE 10 mph Barometer : 29.99 in Dewpoint: 36 F Visibility : 10.00 statute miles Wind Chill : 35 F

Fri, 27 Mar 2020 14:01:22 Z


Critical Times Require Lightweight Web Designs

Obviously, I enjoy bitching and whining about the demise of the Web of Documents type of websites.

Thu, 26 Mar 2020 14:51:16 Z


Links and Notes - Thu, Mar 26, 2020

Toledo Express Airport (KTOL) Mar 26, 2020 2:52 pm EDT Weather : A Few Clouds Temperature : 64 F Humidity : 54% Wind Speed : W 9 mph Barometer : 29.79 in Dewpoint: 47 F Visibility : 10.00 statute miles

Thu, 26 Mar 2020 14:33:05 Z


Proposed text message to family Mar 25, 2020

Thu, 26 Mar 2020 00:38:18 Z


Links and Notes - Tue, Mar 24, 2020

Hackers target WHO as coronavirus cyberattacks spike (reuters.com) https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=22673315

Tue, 24 Mar 2020 20:22:09 Z


Toledo Express Airport (KTOL) Mar 22, 2020 8:52 pm EDT

Mon, 23 Mar 2020 01:14:51 Z


Links and Notes - Sun, Mar 22, 2020

Toledo Express Airport (KTOL) Mar 22, 2020 7:52 am EDT Weather : Fair Temperature : 24 F Humidity : 77% Wind Speed : NE 5 mph Barometer : 30.56 in Dewpoint: 18 F Visibility : 10.00 statute miles Wind Chill : 18 F

Sun, 22 Mar 2020 12:35:58 Z


Links and Notes - Sat, Mar 21, 2020

It's an overcast morning with light snow flurries.

Sat, 21 Mar 2020 14:54:52 Z


Links and Notes - Fri, Mar 20, 2020

Wow, it's "warm" out. Breezy but warm. It's also too wet to walk Barney this morning, since it rained most of the night.

Fri, 20 Mar 2020 14:13:21 Z


Toledo 7-day forecast Mar 19, 2020 9:55 pm

Fri, 20 Mar 2020 02:49:06 Z


Quote - Mar 19, 2020

A Hacker News thread from yesterday ...

Thu, 19 Mar 2020 15:20:59 Z


Links and Notes - Thu, Mar 19, 2020

Our temps could be in the mid-60s around 2am tomorrow and by sunrise on Saturday, approx 29 hours later, our temps are forecast to be in the 20s. I'm guessing that it's early spring.

Thu, 19 Mar 2020 14:15:07 Z


COVID-19

Info:

Wed, 18 Mar 2020 15:54:21 Z


Links and Notes - Wed, Mar 18, 2020

Light rain began falling at mid-afternoon. We are forecast to have rain, off and on, into Friday. We could have a thunderstorm tomorrow or tomorrow night.

Wed, 18 Mar 2020 15:11:46 Z


More Links - Tue, Mar 17, 2020

http://testcode.soupmode.com/cgi-bin/pb.lua/http%3A%2F%2Fwww.toledoblade.com%2Fnews%2Fmedical%2F2020%2F03%2F15%2Fupdates-from-the-lucas-county-coronavirus-news-conference%2Fstories%2F20200315105

Wed, 18 Mar 2020 01:24:55 Z


Links and Notes - Tue, Mar 17, 2020

It's overcast morning. We experienced a little light rain yesterday evening, but barely enough to dampen the ground.

Tue, 17 Mar 2020 13:15:37 Z


National Knitting Night Video

Mar 16, 2020 - text.npr.org - Here's How We Cope When We're Stressed: Ideas From NPR's Arts Desk

Mon, 16 Mar 2020 21:08:32 Z


Links and Notes - Mon, Mar 16, 2020

I'm doing yardwork in the backyard this afternoon. Some cleanup. I came in to get a drink, and I turned on NPR for music, and our local public radio station played a live press conference by the Ohio state government. Gov DeWine postponed Ohio's ...

Mon, 16 Mar 2020 15:05:54 Z


More Links - Sun, Mar 15, 2020

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=22577132

Mon, 16 Mar 2020 02:08:20 Z


Links and Notes - Sun, Mar 15, 2020

It's a sunny day. Mostly clear sky this afternoon.

Sun, 15 Mar 2020 14:12:04 Z


Links and Notes - Sat, Mar 14, 2020

This morning's weather has been overcast with temps in the 30s and wind nearly calm. It's pleasant to be outside. Barney and I walked the neighborhood from 9:55 a.m. to 10:55 a.m. Barney did well on his 60-minute walk. During the walk, I heard an ...

Sat, 14 Mar 2020 15:50:48 Z


The Antithesis of Modern Web Design is Usefulness

My title implies that "modern" web design does not provide utility. That's false. On my laptop and smartphone, Fastmail's web-based email client is useful. I consider it a well-made web application. Many other complex web apps that permit tasks t ...

Sat, 14 Mar 2020 00:13:22 Z


The Antithesis of Modern Web Design is Usefulness

Oops. I forgot to add my dir command to this page to create a URL that contained the year/month/day.

Fri, 13 Mar 2020 22:28:31 Z


Links and Notes - Fri, Mar 13, 2020

We experienced some rain last night. Today, it's sunny, cool, and windy. Howling winds. Barney and I walked this morning.

Fri, 13 Mar 2020 17:52:57 Z


Mar 13, 2020 notes

Fri, 13 Mar 2020 15:28:55 Z


2009-2010 Swine Flu Pandemic

TL;DR:

Thu, 12 Mar 2020 22:01:02 Z


Links and Notes - Thu, Mar 12, 2020

Overcast morning. I have not walked Barney yet. I need to get maintenance done on our Ford Fusion this morning.

Thu, 12 Mar 2020 15:01:09 Z


Page created: Fri, Apr 03, 2020 - 09:05 AM GMT