home

snarfed.org

https://snarfed.org
Ryan Barrett's blog
https://snarfed.org/feed


Achievement unlocked: used a chainsaw, didn’t end up in the hospital.

Fri, 10 Jul 2020 00:54:31 +0000


Great empathy tool: steelmanning. Opposite of straw man arguments. Find the best form of an opposing idea, test it, and see what you can learn from it.

Sun, 05 Jul 2020 18:45:08 +0000


Bridgy stats update

Another year down, another update on Bridgy‘s usage stats! We first announced these during State of the Indieweb at IndieWebCamp West 2020, then posted them here for posterity. The most noticeable part of last year’s stats was losing Facebook and Google+. We made up for that this year by adding three new silos: Mastodon, Meetup, […]

Sat, 27 Jun 2020 18:40:37 +0000


Sun, 21 Jun 2020 05:51:21 +0000


“Software is eating the world” has an underappreciated corollary: tech careers are general purpose. You don’t just make software; you make it for something. You get to choose what. Entertainment, finance, science, health, etc. Not many careers have that luxury. Choose wisely!

Sat, 20 Jun 2020 19:09:59 +0000


5 year old: “C’mon, bad guy! Over here!”

Wed, 17 Jun 2020 15:05:09 +0000


Santa Rosa, California

Tue, 09 Jun 2020 05:47:06 +0000


Mon, 01 Jun 2020 16:00:34 +0000


Flow vs YAGNI

YAGNI – You Ain’t Gonna Need It – is a famous software engineering maxim. Predicting the future is notoriously difficult. When we guess at future requirements, we often guess wrong, so any code we write for them is usually wasted and makes the program more complex and less maintainable. Another maxim is that flow is […]

Thu, 28 May 2020 06:01:58 +0000


We are all Argentina.

Mon, 25 May 2020 04:29:30 +0000


Page created: Thu, Jul 16, 2020 - 09:05 AM GMT