home

Stratechery by Ben Thompson

https://stratechery.com
On the business, strategy, and impact of technology.
http://stratechery.com/feed/


Exponent Podcast: Publishers vs Apple News

On Exponent, the weekly podcast I host with James Allworth, we discuss The Cost of Apple News. Listen to it here.

Fri, 15 Feb 2019 17:00:55 +0000


The Cost of Apple News

Apple News is primed to offer a subscription bundle, but publishers should be wary of being Aggregated.

Wed, 13 Feb 2019 13:58:52 +0000


Exponent Podcast: Why Exponent Isn’t On Spotify

On Exponent, the weekly podcast I host with James Allworth, we discuss Spotify’s Podcast Aggregation Play. Listen to it here.

Fri, 08 Feb 2019 17:00:22 +0000


Spotify’s Podcast Aggregation Play

Spotify is making a major move into podcasts, where it appears to have clear designs to be the sort of Aggregator it cannot be when it comes to music.

Thu, 07 Feb 2019 15:40:32 +0000


Exponent Podcast: Vigilante Justice

On Exponent, the weekly podcast I host with James Allworth, we discuss Apple vs Facebook (and Google!). Listen to it here.

Fri, 01 Feb 2019 17:50:04 +0000


The BuzzFeed Lesson

The lesson of BuzzFeed is that dominant Aggregators like Facebook have no incentive to act against their self interest and support suppliers.

Mon, 28 Jan 2019 15:58:23 +0000


Exponent Podcast: Zeros All The Way Down

On Exponent, the weekly podcast I host with James Allworth, we discuss Netflix Flexes. Listen to it here.

Fri, 25 Jan 2019 16:54:29 +0000


Netflix Flexes

Netflix is an Aggregator, with a value chain that lets it drive demand, raise prices, and dismiss competition.

Tue, 22 Jan 2019 14:55:58 +0000


Exponent Podcast: Inverted Pyramids

On Exponent, the weekly podcast I host with James Allworth, we discuss AWS, MongoDB, and the Economic Realities of Open Source. Listen to it here.

Sat, 19 Jan 2019 17:00:38 +0000


AWS, MongoDB, and the Economic Realities of Open Source

Amazon's latest offering highlights the economic challenges facing open source companies — and Amazon should pay attention.

Mon, 14 Jan 2019 12:43:44 +0000


Page created: Fri, Feb 15, 2019 - 09:00 PM GMT